Yama, one of the eight limbs of Hatha Yoga, is concerned with morality to self and others.
If you commit murder, you would break the Yama rule of non-destruction. Yama consists of moral restraint by positively controlling our actions, speech and thought.

The rule of non-destruction or ‘ahimsa’ is defined as non violence or non injury i.e. we should have compassion for all living things, not injure or show cruelty to any person or creature.  It can also be extended to mean positive action and positive speech through kindness and thoughtful consideration of other people and things in every situation.

Of the eight limbs of yoga, the first two pillars of Yama and Niyama lay down a code of morality or “right living” through practising positive attitudes, actions, discipline and spiritual welfare.  Yama consists of 5 rules of morality connected to our morality towards others and all living things (not destroying, being truthful, not stealing, not coveting and showing moderation in all things).  Rules of moral conduct, self control, attitude and behaviour are written within the ancient texts of the ‘Yoga Sutra’.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s